Pilot Station and Maritime Museum
Low Head Pilot Station is a unique and historical precinct situated at the entry of the Tamar River just 40 minutes drive from Launceston. Dating back to 1805, the Low Head Conservation Area is the oldest Pilot and Signal Station in Australia and has run continuously since 1833. Offering a diverse range of 19th century buildings overlooking Bass Strait, this charming precinct is a haven of tranquility and serenity surrounded by pristine beaches and magnificent views.
The oldest building on the site is Pilot's Row dating back to 1835. Previously used to house up to four pilots and their families, the building has subsequently been converted to a museum where the rich history of Low Head is celebrated. Museum entry by donation.
As the station flourished additional buildings were added which are now available as self-contained cottage style accommodation. The Coxswain's cottage was built in 1847 and is now a delightful cafe overlooking the beach.
The Pilot Station features the third oldest Lighthouse in the Commonwealth and a restored fog horn which is one of two operating fog horns remaining in Australia and the only full operational Type 'G' system in the world. It sounds at noon every Sunday.
Opening Times: Museum: 1000-1600 daily except Christmas day. Cafe: 1 June to 30 November: 1000-1700, seven days a week. 1 December to 31 May: 0900-1700.
- BBQ Facilities
- Car park
- Coach Parking
- Access With Assistance for the Disabled
- First aid equipment
- Free Wi-Fi Internet Access
- Interpretive Centre
- Photographic service
- Public Toilet