Low Head Foghorn
The Low Head Foghorn, at the mouth of the Tamar River, is a unique piece of Tasmania's maritime history.
The Foghorn was installed in 1929 and decommissioned in 1973. It was restored in early 2000 by a group of volunteers. It is the only operational G-type diaphone in the world. The building also houses a very rare Gardner model 2 DCR kerosene engine.
Under ideal conditions, the Foghorn can be heard approximately 30 kilometres out to sea.
Due to the COVID-19 virus, the Foghorn will not be sounded on Sundays but please feel free to use the QR codes on the signage to experience this unique attraction.
The associated Lighthouse was built in 1888, replacing the original 1833 convict-built structure. With an elevation of 43 metres, it dominates the headland.
Due to current health advice on social distancing, please contact the business for the most up to date information regarding opening times and services.