The Furneaux Museum on Flinders Island showcases the history of the Furneaux Group of Islands. Relics from shipwrecks and other artefacts are housed in seven buildings which themselves are exhibits.
The museum has artefacts from some of Australia's earliest European settlements, including an anchor from the Sydney Cove, wrecked on Preservation Island in 1797 and relics from shipwrecks that occurred around the islands which are housed in the Nissen Hut. The dark history of the Wybalenna settlement is recorded in the Aboriginal Room, together with an exquisite collection of Aboriginal shell necklaces. The Mutton Bird hut gives an authentic glimpse into an island tradition. Other exhibits demonstrate the geology, fauna, shells, bird life and early pioneering life of the islands. A collection of albums and photographs cover all aspects of life in the Furneaux Group and provide an invaluable tool for researchers.
A visit to the museum can be combined with a trip to Wybalenna Chapel and Cemetery and several idyllic beaches.
Entry payment is by cash only.
The Museum is open every day in summer/autumn, and weekends only in winter/spring. Current opening hours can be obtained by phoning 03 6359 8434 any time.
- Coach Parking
- Enquiry Desk
- Non Smoking
- Picnic Area
- Public Toilet