Skip to main content

Accommodation

Bowhill Grange

A view nof the prperty from a nearby hill
Bowhill Grange with Table Mountain in background
Bowhill Grange as you approach
One of the self contained cottages  at Bowhill Grange
The old Assyrian Stables at Bowhill Grange
Living room of Elizabeth Cottage at Bowhill Grange
Main bedroom of Elizabeth Cottage at Bowhill Grange
Fully equiped kitchen in Elizabeth Cottage
Elizabeth Cottage loft bedroom at Bowhill Grange
Views from Bowhill Grange
Located midway between Hobart and Launceston and five minutes from the historic village of Oatlands, the National Trust listed Bowhill Grange is a picture-perfect collection of early colonial farm buildings that were built in 1854. Set in an oasis of green, shaded by a grove of ancient cypress pines and perched on a sandstone ridge overlooking the adjacent dam, Bowhill Grange is circled by hundreds of acres of prime merino pastures with a dramatic backdrop of Table Mountain and the surrounding conservation area. Originally part of the renowned Anstey Barton estate, ownership passed to six generations of the Agnew family in 1878 under the stewardship of Sir James Agnew, who was subsequently one of Tasmania’s early Premiers. An integral part of this prominent landholding, Bowhill Grange not only reflects Tasmania’s early colonial history, but was indeed an active contributor, well known throughout the young colony during this period as the home of The Assyrian, the 1882 Melbourne Cup winner, who was stabled here for nearly two decades. With two beautifully refurbished self-contained cottages, Bowhill Grange is an ideal base to explore the magnificent Southern Midlands and beyond, with Hobart, Launceston and the east coast all about an hour’s drive away. Alternatively why not just sit back, relax and enjoy true country peace and tranquility.

Carpark

Family Friendly

Non Smoking

Open Fireplace

Outdoor Furniture

Actively welcomes people with access needs.

Birdwatching

ROOMS
Elizabeth's Cottage image

Elizabeth's Cottage

Originally constructed in 1854, it was designed by the renowned ex-convict architect Frederick Thomas who was responsible for many landmark colonial buildings. The cottage was groundbreaking for its time in that it was planned to provide improved lodging to entice immigrant farmworkers and their families to rural Tasmania. The resultant sandstone building is very distinctive in style with its high pitched roof, five-meter ceiling and commanding position overlooking the surrounding pastures. Extensively renovated in recent years, it combines wonderful old features like the original wooden staircases, tall deep-set windows, original baker’s ovens and a huge sandstone fireplace in the sitting room, with thoughtfully sourced furnishings that harmonize with and enhance the character of the original building. A large private verandah is a perfect spot for soaking in the views. The cottage has two character-filled bedrooms. The main bedroom is on the ground floor with an ensuite bathroom and an extra single bed. The second bedroom is accessed through the main bedroom via very steep and narrow stairs and is not suitable for children or the mobility impaired and does not have a separate bathroom. There is a fully equipped kitchen and breakfast provisions.

4
Shepherds Rest image

Shepherds Rest

This Cottage is currently not available as it is being renovated.

3
Shepherds Rest image

Shepherds Rest

This cottage is currently being refurbished with completion scheduled for December 2021

Quality Tourism Accreditation icon

Quality Tourism Accreditation

By creating an account on Discover Tasmania, you agree to the terms of use outlined in our Privacy Statement


Success! You are now logged in.

Add to trip