Skip to main content


Emma McGrath | Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Photo of a violinist in a black dress, slightly leaning backwards, against a solid grey backdrop.
Dazzling violinistics. Emma McGrath, celebrated Concertmaster of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, steps into the spotlight as soloist in the third and final violin concerto by French composer Camille Saint-Saëns. Dedicated to Spanish virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate – one of the most lauded of violinists – the Third Violin Concerto will dazzle and delight. Composed at a time when women were excluded from professional life, the concert opens with Fanny Mendelssohn’s only existing work for orchestra, the Overture in C, and closes with brother Felix’s Symphony No 5 ‘Reformation’. On the podium is trailblazing South Korean Shiyeon Sung, conducting the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra for the first time.
Event Details
  • Saturday 12 October 2024

  • 7:30 PM to 9:30 PM

  • 1 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania, 7000

Non Smoking

Public Toilet

Actively welcomes people with access needs.

By creating an account on Discover Tasmania, you agree to the terms of use outlined in our Privacy Statement

Success! You are now logged in.

Add to trip

Which trip would you like to add this to?

Need to Remove from a trip?

Remove from trip

Select the trip you would like to remove this from.


You have nearly reached the Explore Map plot limit of 27 items per itinerary.

Try splitting itineraries, rather than creating one large itinerary.

Manage trips
Please try again in a few moments.